Posted by: lylescott89 | May 26, 2009

Weekend in Atlanta

Hey kids,

 

I spent the weekend in Atlanta and I thought I would share my fun with you all.  I know my many readers will be clamoring for info, so I find it will be best if I write a message here for all of you loyal readers to enjoy.

 

I left on Friday looking forward to a weekend of baseball, food and fun.  I was able to get all three.  The flight left a few minutes early on Friday because everyone had shown up and was seated and ready to go.  I was in a row of three and the middle seat was empty.  Excellent!  The lady at the window and I had extra space to relax.  I read a book while she enjoyed some wine and the in-flight magazine.  The plane arrived shortly after Noon and I quickly located my friend I was meeting.   We quickly purchased our Breeze passes for the Marta and hopped on and made our way towards downtown Atlanta.

 

Our hotel was the Marriott Marquis and it was located right at the Peachtree station.  We checked in and found ourselves on the 40th floor.  What a view.  We could see Turner Field from the room, which was great because we were seeing three baseball games there over the next three days.  It was cloudy all weekend and there was some rain, but it was mostly just overcast.  More on that later.

 

It was past time for lunch so we headed back downstairs in the fabulous glass elevator and stopped by the concierge’s desk.  Ted’s Montana Grill was where we wanted to eat and the concierge quickly showed us the way.  It was only a few blocks away, which would not normally seem so bad, but as we were walking it started raining.  Not a heavy rain, but enough to get me fairly damp.  We arrived at Ted’s and I order the S.O.B., which was a bison burger with Swiss cheese, grilled onions and bacon.  It was a superb burger and I would gladly have another.  I’d have to say it was probably one of the best burgers I had ever had.  I had the salt & pepper onion rings on the side and they too were superb.

 

After lunch the rain had stopped and we wandered around downtown for a while and then headed back to the hotel.  We checked out the hotel and found there was a conference there called ICYPAA, which was the International Conference of Youth participating in Alcoholics Anonymous.  Lots of kids drinking Red Bull and smoking.  The hotel was 100% non-smoking, but they were outside a lot with their cigarettes. 

 

To get to the Brave’s game we took the subway south one stop to the Five Points station.  We transferred there to the Braves Shuttle, which was a bus that took us directly to Turner Field.  It could not have been easier.  I was a little hungry when I arrived at the game so I went to the Brave’s Smokehouse in center field and had the huge pulled pork sandwich with peach barbecue sauce.  Expensive, but delicious. 

 

Friday night was game one of a three game set against the Toronto Blue Jays.  Now, I must say I have never been the biggest fan of interleague play, but there is nothing I can do about it so I have given in and embraced it.  Pitching for the Jays was former Cy Young Award winner Roy Halladay.  Pitching for the Braves was a guy named Kenshin Kawakami.  There was about a 30 minute rain delay before the game started, but once it did we got an unexpected gem of a game.  The game was great and ended up being the best game of the weekend.  Kawakami outpitched Halladay and ended up with a 1-0 win after Casey Kotchman’s sacrifice fly in the 8th inning.  There’s nothing like a good pitcher’s duel.  After the game it was fireworks night and a great fireworks show was enjoyed by many.  Some people left and I have no idea why.  Then it was back to the hotel and after walking through about 100 or so smokers, we returned to the room.

 

Saturday morning it was off to the Georgia Aquarium.  What a spectacular place to visit.  It was huge.  They had some frisky beluga whales, creepy Japanese long legged crabs and the monstrous whale sharks.  Whale sharks are absolutely huge, yet they are a very gentle fish.  I watched them get fed which was also kind of cool.  At the aquarium they also had a Titanic exhibit which was also fascinating.  They also had a 3-D film for kids, so I passed on that.  It took a good two and ½ hours to see the whole place and I could have stayed longer.  It was that good.

 

Afterwards we walked around the Olympic park and took in the free water show at the fountains.  Of course they had to clear out the kids playing in the fountains first.  Then it was on to the Hard Rock Café for lunch.  Very good food.  The Hard Rock is a surprisingly good place to eat. 

 

Ultimately, game two of the three game set was calling us.  So, when the time came we headed back to the ballpark.  We stopped on the way, however, for dinner at Johnny Rockets.  Saturday’s game was a bit different, but still a great game.  Braves ace Derek Lowe pitched very well and also had two hits in a 4-3 victory over the Blue Jays.  Two games, two victories in one run games.  Amazing.  The Braves will go for the sweep on Sunday.

 

Sunday morning began with a quest for a big breakfast and it was located right in the hotel.  In the restaurant we found they had a guy making omelets per request.  I had the guy make me one with bacon, ham, onions, tomatoes, jalapenos and cheddar cheese.  It was a four egg omelet with a big side of fruit and I was stuffed.   

 

Since Sunday’s game was being played in the afternoon, we started heading that direction.  We were early enough for the Chop Rally and got to see the Tomahawk girls.  And were they hot?  Yes they were.  The game itself was a little different than the other two.  It was tied 2-2 going into the bottom of the 7th inning when the Braves exploded for seven runs.  They added another in the 8th and ended up winning 10-2.  A three game sweep of a first place team.  Very impressive.  Funny that when the game ended the rains started falling.  Perfect timing.

 

Oddly enough, there was a Hooters right next to the Marta station by the hotel.  Imagine that!  A Hooters within walking distance?  That is a dream come true.  So naturally we headed there for dinner after the game.  It seemed to be the most appropriate thing to do.  After some Southwester egg rolls and a huge pile of wings I was full.  Back to the hotel to pack and prepare for the journey home on Monday.

 

Monday morning we packed up and took our final ride on the Marta and got dropped off right at the airport.  Security was a breeze and we parted ways as we were headed to different terminals.  I sat reading in terminal A while awaiting my flight.  I saw people running and trying to make it to their flights on time.  I saw one guy arrive about one minute too late and since the door to the flight was already closed they could not reopen it for him.  He was not happy, but I am sure he only had himself to blame.  Once on the flight, I had the pleasure of sitting next to an incredibly hot blonde girl.  I am guessing she was somewhere between 20 & 23 years old and probably not too happy that she got stuck sitting next to an old guy.  But hey, who cares about her anyway.  I was happy.  She did have some odd smelling perfume though.  It was not really bad, but not that great either.  At least it was not too strong.  She ate two bags of peanuts and a granola bar on the plane, but nothing to drink.  I found that a little unusual, but since she was hot I just went with it.  Few words were spoken between us as we were both reading, but I kept pretending to look out the window so I could sneak another peek at her.  I would have preferred her to wear a short skirt instead of jeans, but I was willing to take what I could get.

 

So there you have it kids.  My Memorial Day weekend in just a few lines for you all to enjoy.

 

Namaste.

Responses

  1. What a fantastic weekend for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

