Posted by: lylescott89 | August 26, 2009

I Wanna be an Eloi

Hey kids,

 

I am not a morning person and I never have been.  I hate the morning.  I hate waking up by the force of an alarm clock.  The human body was made to wake up naturally.  The alarm clock is a ridiculous invention and is a horrid way to start a day.  I hate the morning.

 

I guess what makes me hate the morning even more is having to go to work.  Because if I did not have to go to work I would not have to set an alarm clock and then could wake up naturally, which is the way one is supposed to wake up.  If I were to wake up naturally each morning I would never get up on time.  I tried some methods I found online and in books to wake myself up without an alarm clock and they just did not work.  I ended up waking up about 45 minutes later than I needed to and if I could have I would have just rolled over and continued sleeping.  I love sleep.

 

As much as I love sleep, I hate work.  I despise the entire idea of working.  It just does not make sense to me.  Why should anyone have to get up each day and go someplace and do something against their will?  That’s all work is.  Torture is another good definition of work.  At a young age I was told that we would be living in a world of leisure by the year 2000.  That has not yet happened as far as I can tell.  This is not leisure by anyone’s standards. 

 

I always thought the best way to live would be something similar to the life of the Eloi.  If you have ever read The Time Machine by H.G. Wells you know exactly what I am talking about.  For the uninformed I will give you a briefing:  When The Traveler stopped in the future, he found a group of quiet, pacifist people known as the Eloi.  They did not work at all.  They just sat around and relaxed all day as far as The Traveler could tell.  I am willing to bet that they were able to wake up at their leisure.  They essentially had no technology whatsoever.  They just lived and ate a lot of fruit and went about their lives.

 

The only real problem the Eloi had were the Morlocks.  Now, the Morlocks lived underground and were not peaceful at all.  In fact they would come above ground and use the Eloi as a giant snack shop.  The Morlocks enjoyed Eloi for dinner most every night.  But, if you were to take the Morlocks out of the equation the Eloi had a pretty great life.

 

I need to be an Eloi.  Why can we not have a society like the Eloi?  It would be simple and no one would be fighting or arguing or being mean to anyone.  Of course there are so many miserable people in the world that would end up being the Morlocks.  They would not let us peaceful Eloi to just live our lives as we so choose.  If I were an Eloi, I’d be asleep right now.

 

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

