Posted by: lylescott89 | February 26, 2010

Let’s Feed Kirk Cameron to Killer Whales

Hey kids,

 

I was saddened to hear the news last night that the body of Andrew Koenig had been found in Canada.  Now, this was not an actor that I had any direct connection with nor was he an actor I had thought even once about in the past 20 years, however, this was a man that was depressed and committed suicide and I always find that troubling.

 

For those out of the loop, Andrew Koenig was the son of Walter Koenig, who played Chekov on Star Trek.  Andrew gained notoriety by playing Boner on Growing Pains back in the 80’s.  I always felt bad for this guy because I am sure that he has only been known as Boner for the past 25 years.  Since he was on that show with Kirk Cameron who has turned from teen actor to Super Christian, I was eagerly anticipating the following headline:

 

Kirk Cameron Prays for Boner

 

Unfortunately all we got from Kirk was a statement that he was praying for his old friend whom he had not seen in many years.  Kirk has been way too busy the past few years making shoddy Christian films and rallying against thinking.  Kirk is the guy that told us that all we need to do to dispute evolution is to disregard rational thinking.  That’s right Kirk, let’s turn everyone into non thinking robots who never question anything or come up with any ideas.  Oh great, now I am on a "Kirk Cameron is an idiot" rant.  I knew this would happen.  Oh well, let’s enjoy the ride as long as we are on it.

 

Kirk made a series of videos a few years ago about how Creation needs to be taught in schools alongside the theory of evolution.  Kirk is apparently from the school of thought that people cannot get that info from church or home and must get it in school.  I will say that I am 100% against Kirk in more ways than one.  You have to watch these videos if you really want a good laugh.  The guy says the stupidest things imaginable.  You can find some of them on YouTube.  What?  You want me to do all the work for you?  That’s not what I am here for kids.

 

We also must mark the passing of that girl at Sea World who was munched by the killer whale.  I feel bad for her family, but I do not feel bad for her.  I mean if you take a job where you work with a deadly animal day in and day out you are aware of the risks as well as the rewards.  I still have not seen any video of her getting tugged under and tossed around as the witnesses described, but my morbid curiosity hopes that one will get posted.  I know it’s creepy and gross, but I cannot help it.  I am sure it is not like those videos of the whales in the wild ripping apart a seal, because that would be a bit much.

 

What do we as a society do about having killer whales on display for the pleasure of the masses?  I don’t know the answer, but I will offer an opinion or two for you kids.  I will say upfront that I have never really enjoyed the Shamu shows at Sea World.  I always liked the dolphin shows much better.  The Shamu shows always seemed a bit bland to me.  I tried to like them as I felt I should like them, but I always found them lacking.  I love killer whales though as I think they are beautiful animals.  But there is the point: they are wild animals and getting into a tank with them just seems plain stupid to me.  I really do not have a problem with them being in captivity for the purpose of research and education, but let’s put an end to the circus tricks.  Turn the Shamu show into something without people standing on their backs and jumping off of their noses.  That’s not natural.  Once a whale is in captivity I really do not see returning it to the ocean as a viable option, but for crying out loud let’s make it illegal for people (except for Kirk Cameron) to get into tanks with them.  Kirk can swim with killer whales any time he would like.  The time has come. 

 

In Survivor news this week:

 

  • Coach is still an asshole
  • Russell burying the machete was not as fun as burning socks last season
  • Danielle is amazingly hot
  • Parvati is amazingly hot
  • Loved it when Boston Rob asked Coach if he was telling the same lie, I mean story, from the night before
  • Watching girls in bikinis fight in the mud was awesome.  I demand more!
  • James has lost it
  • Randy will not be missed, but after all the talk of getting rid of Parvati the virus why did not one person vote for her?
  • Loved seeing Randy toss his buff into the fire.  It was his one last act of defiance.

 

Namaste.

Responses

  1. So agree. Perhaps it is time to end the whale show…


Leave a Reply

Categories

