Posted by: lylescott89 | November 29, 2010

Thanksgiving Getaway Part I

Hey kids,

Thanksgiving 2010 has come to an end and I am proud to say that I made it through successfully without shopping at all.  In fact we did something a little different this year just to avoid all the fuss of cooking and the madness of the crazies that like to shop at 3 AM.  We went away and it was glorious.  I am sad it has come to an end, but I will be happy to share with you the entire trip, as short as it was.

It all began last Wednesday.  I took the day off, but we did not plan on leaving until about 1:30 or so.  I spent the morning getting packed and ready to go.  It was not as relaxing as I had hoped because I always seem to have incredible anxiety before any sort of travel.  I was nervous about the drive, the hotel, the planned Thanksgiving dinner the next day, etc.  But, I was able to muddle through it all and we finally left shortly before 1:30 PM.

We were guided on our trip by our faithful GPS, Meagan, whom Adam named after his favorite Hooters girl.  Meagan did just great and the trip was uneventful until we were a mere 20 minutes away from our destination or Melbourne Beach.  I could see ahead as we headed south on I-95 that traffic had come to a complete halt.  It was backed up for miles as far as I could tell.  Luckily we were right at an exit and Highway 1 was just right there for us to use.  I knew there would be traffic lights and such, but I knew it would still be faster than stop and go traffic on 95.  So we took the exit and as Meagan recalculated we were quickly back on our way.  Adam had a bit of a fit as he complained that we were never get there now as the ETA had changed since we were on a different road.  Stopping for a bathroom break did not help much either.

Regardless of Adam’s complaints we did make really good time and finally made it to the Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront.  It was a bit cloudy and there was a nice breeze.  It felt wonderful outside.  We went to the front desk and checked in.  The guy at the desk, let’s call him Lamar, said that I qualified for a free upgrade since I was a gold points member.  I said that was fine and asked what was so great about the upgrade.  Lamar told me that we got a sleep number bed and bunk beds for Adam.  I asked Adam if he wanted the suite with the bunk beds or would he rather have our initially assigned room and sleep on the sleeper sofa.  He said he wanted the bunk beds and we took the upgrade.  Lamar said that he was impressed that we would take the time to ask for Adam’s opinion.  Our room was assigned and I got a luggage cart to bring in our stuff.  Of course, Adam and Donna went to the room and left me doing all the heavy lifting, but no big deal.

The room was a nice suite on the third floor.  All the suites at the hotel were described as having full ocean views and ours was no exception.  It was a beautiful view and there was a balcony with two chairs that we were able to use to enjoy the view and the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.  We had a kitchenette and had brought all the fixings to make our own subs so Donna prepared those for all of us as I unpacked and took the luggage cart back to the lobby.

We decided not to venture out that evening and instead went for a swim in the pool and the spent the rest of the night quietly in the room.  After Adam went to bed we sat out on the balcony and listened to the waves and stared at the stars.  It was also a good time to do some reading and thanks to the Kindle app on my phone I was able to sit outside and finish reading The Girl who played with Fire.  But there was only so much reading that could be done as I was quite tired after the drive so I turned in early.

I slept well, but I cannot say I am a big fan of the sleep number bed.  My problem was that no matter what setting I had it on I always thought there was a better setting so I just kept changing it.  Finally I got it way firm and I did not like that at all so I decided to take it down to zero and then it was just mush.  I finally settled on 40, but every night I could not resist trying a different number.

On Thanksgiving morning we had breakfast in the room and then walked down to the beach.  Adam had brought his boogie board, but he decided that he wanted to play in the sand for a while first.  Adam really does not like building sandcastles, but rather he enjoys digging holes and the burrowing out some tunnels.  As long as he enjoys himself it is fine with me, but the waves were pretty big that morning so it was not too much longer and he was ready to try them out.  After a little trial and error he got the hang of it and had a wild time riding the waves.  The water was a bit chilly, maybe about 75 degrees, but that seemed to have no effect on him.

About the time that Adam and I were playing a majorly hot girl in a pink bikini came out from the hotel and got herself a nice spot on the beach.  She was with an old guy, which I eventually deducted was her father after I heard her call him dad, and they had a surfboard.  Dad went out to ride the waves first and hot girl stayed behind, but dad had no luck with the waves.  So as Adam rode the waves I had a tough time for a while keeping one eye on him and the other on the hot girl with big boobs and sexy legs on the beach.  But, eventually Adam tired himself out and we went back to digging so I could fully concentrate on the brunette.

After a couple of hours we got cleaned up and watched a little of the Macy’s Parade while we anticipated our Thanksgiving dinner at the Chart House.  (You can read about that dinner here)  Again, it was more fun to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the breeze and the view.  Adam saw a guy on the beach laying flat on his face and thereby concluded he was dead and that we needed to call 911, but I assured him it was okay.  The guy did eventually move.

After dinner we returned to the hotel and watched a little football.  This inspired Adam to go outside and toss the football around, which we did.  Once we were done playing we returned inside and I came up with a brilliant idea:  let’s go take a long walk on the beach!  So, we did.

We walked south on the beach for quite a long ways, stopping occasionally to talk to some guys that were fishing and also to play some games by drawing in the sand.  All in all it was a perfect ending to the day, but it was not yet over.  We got back to the room about the time the sun was disappearing in the west and Adam said he was too tired to do anything else.  That was until I said that I was going to swim in the pool for a little while.  Then he suddenly perked up and immediately ran to put his suit on.  We swam for another hour or so and then it was back to the room.  Again, it was an evening filled with reading on the balcony, though it was quite cloudy and not many stars were out.

I have to say that I was concerned that I would not like spending Thanksgiving in a hotel, but when that day ended I realized that I had just experienced one of the best Thanksgivings ever.  It was certainly better than last year when I had the nose surgery and substantially better than when I had the flu in 1992.

But, we still had two more days left to enjoy.  Stay tuned for more.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

