Posted by: lylescott89 | February 16, 2011

The SI Swimsuit Issue has become Irrelevant: Discuss.

Hey kids,

I noticed that the folks at Sports Illustrated (motto: world’s most boring sports magazine) have once again unleashed their annual swimsuit issue on the masses.  Hasn’t this annual rite become incredibly passé by now? 

You kids know I have nothing against seeing a beautiful woman in a bikini, in fact I try and do so as much as possible.  That said, why would anyone feel the need to purchase this issue unless it was already included in your subscription?  I mean, seriously, aren’t there about a zillion places to see women in bikinis or less on the internet already?  And aren’t most of those free?  Heck, you can even go to the Sports Illustrated website and see all of their models anyway.  So why pay for something that you can get for free?  I don’t get it.

Sure, there was a time when the swimsuit issue was relevant.  There was no internet, no Hooters and no other magazines that featured hot women in swimsuits.  So it made perfect sense when I was in the seventh grade, but now?  Not so much.  I suppose there are the guys that still buy it regardless, but from what I see on the store displays the issue sits there for months collecting dust save for a few dog eared issues that get thumbed through by old men that either don’t have internet access or have a witchy wife that does not allow them to look at pretty girls because she is too insecure.

While perusing the SI website (of which the only interesting thing ever is Peter Kings Monday Morning QB) I’ve noticed something else about the models over the past few years.  More often than not the models come from a country other than this one.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I just find it curious.  Why?  Why are there more foreign born models in an American publication?  Again, I do not discriminate when it comes to beautiful women.  Hot is hot as far as I am concerned, but I wonder if somewhere in a country that has lots of Z’s and K’s in the name and ends in a Stan if mothers are raising their daughters specifically with being an SI swimsuit model as a goal?  Do they teach a class in Zkuzukkzzzukkstan high schools on how to be an SI swimsuit model?  I wonder.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

