Posted by: lylescott89 | February 25, 2011

And the Oscar goes to…

Hey kids,

It’s that time of year again.  It is time for the Oscars!  As we all know that is as big a night for me as the Super Bowl.  It starts with a nice big meal while watching the stars arrive on the red carpet and ends many hours later when the Oscar for Best Picture is awarded.  It is always a fun and amazing night.

A few things to note before I get to my predictions:

• I am not really pleased with the choice of having James Franco & Anne Hathaway as the hosts.  The commercials they are using to promote the show are just plain awful.  As much as I enjoy looking at Miss Hathaway and as much as I enjoy the acting skills of Mr. Franco I just do not see them as hosts for the biggest night in show biz.  That said I hope I am proven wrong on this and they are spectacular hosts.
• I was perfect in making my Oscar picks last year because I felt it was the most obvious year for picking the winners.  Every actor stood out far and above the rest as did the actresses.  It was easy pickings last year, but this year?  No so much.  I certainly don’t expect to achieve perfection two years in row, but wouldn’t it be great if I did?
• As always, these selections are who I think will win and are not always who I would choose to win if I were a voting member of the Academy.  And we all know that I truly deserve to be a voting member of the Academy.

So without further delay I give you my predictions for the Oscar winners in the only categories that anyone really cares about.

Best Picture: The King’s Speech
Best Actor: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
Best Actress: Natalie Portman – Black Swan
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale – The Fighter
Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit
Best Director: David Fincher – The Social Network
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

So there you have it kids.  My predictions based on essentially nothing.  I toyed with the idea of The Social Network as Best Picture, Annette Bening for Best Actress and both Melissa Leo and Amy Adams for Best Supporting Actress, but ultimately had to make a decision and I hope it does not come back to bite me in the butt.  Well and how could it anyway?  It’s not like I am placing bets or anything.  I’m just writing a silly little blog.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

