Posted by: lylescott89 | August 18, 2011

The Journey Continues: On to the Smoky Mountains

Hey kids,

Thursday morning had arrived and a trip to the Smoky Mountains was waiting in store for us.  However, there were a few last details to attend to in wretchedly hot Nashville.  One was checking out of the hotel, which was essentially a breeze.  We called the valet to have our car ready and then they sent up a guy to help with our luggage.  The guy that came up was very nice and told me a story about how after getting his degree at the University of Tennessee the only job he could find was as a bellman.  It made me realize that I am not the only one who has a completely useless degree.

After we got into our car we headed off to breakfast at the Pancake Pantry over by the Vanderbilt School of Medicine.  There was a short wait and limited parking, but I was ultimately able to find a spot to park for free nearby on the street.  The pancakes were the best I had ever had and I am not exaggerating.  I chose the blueberry pancakes with a side of bacon.  Adam had these pancakes with M&M’s in them which is ludicrous, but hey, it’s vacation.  The maple syrup was exceptional, but the real surprise was their cinnamon cream syrup.  That was awesome so I split my pancakes in half and poured maple on one side and cinnamon cream syrup on the other.  I was very happy, very full and ready for the not so long trip.

But wait, in Centennial Park there is a full size replica of the Parthenon that we wanted to see; the exterior of which was used in the film Percy Jackson & the Olympians.  Adam had gone there on Tuesday with his kid’s group, but he insisted that Donna and I wait to go so he could see it again and be our tour guide.  I have one word for that: mistake.  We should have gone on our own because Adam was bored and cranky.  So I ended up paying for him to go in again and then him not wanting to be a tour guide, but only wanting to whine about how much he wanted to hit the road.  We dealt with it because we had no other choice and I reminded him that it was his decision that we wait to go with him and he now had to live with that.  We wandered inside and out and despite Adam’s constant whining we actually had a fairly nice visit.  Once again I was sweaty beyond belief by the time we hopped in the car to head to the Smokies.

Knowing that we would lose an hour on the way towards Gatlinburg we had filled up the car with gas the night before in order to expedite our trip.  Adam was fine on the ride, but it took a little longer than expected due to bathroom breaks and such.  We had rented a cabin through Cove Mountain Realty and finally arrived at the rental center about4:00 pm.  I may have neglected to tell you that the day before I received a call from Jennifer at Cove Mountain to inform me that the cabin we had booked and paid for was no longer available and we would be upgraded to a more expensive cabin at no extra cost.  This was essentially no problem, but it still kind of upset me as I had spent hours going through all their cabins to get just the right one and now due to a plumbing mishap I was getting moved.  It just felt like I had done a lot of research work for nothing.

We arrived at the cabin and it was beautiful.  It looked small from the front, but was very roomy inside.  It had an upper and lower deck out back with a grill and a hot tub, plus table and chairs outside for dining and rocking chairs.  The kitchen, dining room and living room were upstairs and there was a bedroom and a game room downstairs.  Adam stayed upstairs on the pull out couch.  It was not stocked with food, unfortunately, so we had to head out to Kroger in Pigeon Forge for groceries.

Let me tell you a little about this Kroger if I may.  It was loaded with tourists who were all doing the exact same thing as we were.  It was easy to tell this as everyone looked royally confused as to where to find anything.  We figured we’d eat breakfast and dinner at the cabin and have lunch while we were out and about during the day.  I picked out some steaks for dinner, some snacks, items for breakfast and some items for future dinners.  I also found a box of a dozen Kripsy Kreme’s and asked Adam if he thought that was a good idea for tonight’s dessert.  His eyes lit up and he yelled “Oh yeah!”

We spent that first night just enjoying the cabin, playing some pool and chilling out in the hot tub.  It was quiet and peaceful and there were wild turkeys nearby, which was odd, but okay with us.  I would guess it was as close to a perfect evening as possible.  The next morning we’d be off to explore the Smoky Mountains, but you’ll have to tune in next time to read about that.

Namaste

Responses

  1. Hi Lyle,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about the Smoky Mountains to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane


Leave a Reply

Categories

