Posted by: lylescott89 | August 24, 2011

The Journey Ends

Hey kids,

It was the final morning of our vacation.  We had to check out of the cabin and head back home.  The only real decision would be should we drive all the way home or should we stop along the way for some rest.  But before all of that we had one more piece of business to attend to.  Breakfast.

When we checked in to Cove Mountain we were given a coupon for a free breakfast for three at Reagan’s Pancake House in Pigeon Forge.  We decided to leave it for the final morning so we could have a hearty breakfast before we left.  (We also were given a coupon for a free movie rental, but we were not really interested and just left it for the next guest) So we packed up the car and off we drove to Pigeon Forge.

Now, if you are not familiar with Pigeon Forge I will tell you that it is filled with all manner of corny dinner shows and sideshow attractions.  Reagan’s was next to such a place which was called the Jurassic Jungle Boat Ride.  Adam saw it and thought it looked pretty cool.  When we got to the restaurant there was a slight wait (5-10 minutes) so while Donna waited for the table Adam and I walked next door to get some more information.  I could tell instantly that this was a cheap, piece of crap ride and could only guess how horrid it was inside.  I asked the girl at the counter what the price was and I was stunned when she told me $13.99 + tax for adults and $9.99 + tax for children.  That’s a lot of money for a 10 minute boat ride through cheesy dinosaurs.  I looked in my coupon book and I had a coupon for $1.00 off for up to 12 people.  Wow, that would really make a difference.  Just then I got a text from Donna saying that our table was ready and I told Adam we had to leave.  I asked him if he really wanted to do that ride and he said no, it was overpriced.  Smart kid!

We sat down at our table and were greeted by our server whose name escapes me, but was probably named Flo.  She saw my free breakfast coupon and said “let me show you what that is good for”.  She thus flipped my menu over and pointed to an item.  The “free” breakfast was for nothing more than a stack of three pancakes.  No coffee, no bacon, no sausage, nothing.  Hardly a hearty start to my day.  Flo then said that we could all partake of the all you can eat breakfast buffet and coffee for only $4.00 each with that coupon.  I immediately saw the old bait and switch routine working itself out in front of me, but we were all starving and the buffet looked delicious.  So we decided to go with that and I am sure glad we did.

The buffet was fantastic.  Not only were there plenty of pancakes, but there was also sausage, bacon, biscuits & gravy, toast, fruit, French toast, eggs, hash browns, etc.  Plus the coffee was delicious.  I started out with a plate scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and bacon.  On my next trip up I tried the outstanding pancakes and more bacon.  I swear I ate at least a pound of bacon it was so good.  After that I know I went back for more, but it is all a blur now.  I was drunk on bacon & coffee.

So by the time it was all said and done and we were ready to start our trip I was stuffed.  Flo gave us the check and once we added in the tax & tip it turned out our “free” breakfast cost us $16.20.  It was by far the most expensive free breakfast we had ever had.  That said I would definitely go back there again.  In fact if I got in the car right now I could be there for breakfast tomorrow morning.

We headed home and the travel was long and boring.  We decided that we were awake enough to make the entire trip even though we’d be getting home at approximately 12:30 AM according to Meagan.  We made several stops along the way, but by far the best stop was at Lane’s Orchard in Fort Valley, GA for some yummy Georgia peaches.  I wanted to get the big basket of peaches, but Donna thought the smaller one was plenty so naturally we went with the smaller basket.  We finished them off in just a few days.  They were the best peaches I ever ate.

The rest of the drive home was uneventful.  I still had one more day off of work to recuperate on Monday so that was a good thing.  And just like Meagan said, we got home at 12:31 AM.  It was a great trip, but now reality was back and staring me right in the face.  Sigh.

Namaste

Responses


Leave a Reply

Categories

