Posted by: lylescott89 | December 9, 2011

Are you Kidding me???

Hey kids,

I just had an interesting conversation with a lady I work with.  For our purposes today we will refer to her as Vicky.  Allow me to set this up for you…

Today we had the second of three luncheons scheduled for this holiday season.  The first one was for those of us that like good food and do not want to attend the third one, which is for everyone and features crappy food.  This one today was a small affair for about 10 of us that generally worked together throughout the past year.  It was catered by Smokey Bones.

I met the delivery guy outside and while Vicky paid him I took the food inside and set it up nicely.  We all stood around and looked at it until I finally served myself up a plate.  I suppose they were waiting for me to start to see if there would be anything left.  The menu included:

• Pulled pork
• BBQ Chicken
• Grilled Chicken (No sauce)
• Baked beans
• Coleslaw
• Ribs
• French fries
• Plenty of barbecue sauce

Almost immediately, as I am prone to do, I said the wrong thing.  I was asked about the luncheon we had on Wednesday and I explained that it was a brainchild of Sherri & me after we found out the menu and the caterer for the all office luncheon.  That was met with anger from Pol Pot who said that it’s not about the food, but about spending time with the people you work with.  I told Pol Pot that most of us do not really want to spend any more time than required with the people we work with.  Whoops!  That got me a dirty look.  Oh well, it’s not like I care if Pol Pot likes me or not.

Anyway, I noticed that everyone was enjoying their delicious meal except for Vicky.  I asked Vicky if she was okay and…well, the conversation went something like this:

Me: Are you okay Vicky?

Vicky: I’m fine.  Just eat.

Me: Would you like me to fix you a plate?

V: No.

Me: I’m sorry, but why aren’t you eating?

V: I am fasting for my church.

Me: Excuse me?

V: On Wednesday night the church told us all to fast until Friday night at 9:00 PM.

Me: That’s ridiculous.  How can they tell you what to do?

V: I listen to and do whatever the church tells me.

Me: If they told you to not eat for a week…

V: They’ve done that before and I did it.

Me: Oh my gosh!  I’m sorry Vicky, but I run my own life.  I don’t allow anyone to tell me when I can and cannot eat.  (Technically this is not completely true as Donna certainly can and does curtail some of my eating habits)

V: It’s my church.  I suppose it’s unfortunate that this happened the week of this luncheon, but that’s how God wanted it.  I have to do what they say.

Me: What would you do if they told you tonight to give them all of your money?

V: I’d write them a check.

Me:  Noooooooooo!

Now I did not ask what church she attended, but I know darn sure that there is no way I would ever darken their door.  As a friend of mine astutely pointed out, this is one of the hallmarks of a cult.  Whether she is in one or not I cannot say, but it sure smells like one.

Whatever happened to free will?  Why would anyone allow themselves to allow an outside source have so much influence on their daily decisions?  If I got a call from a church on Wednesday night and was told to fast for 48 hours I would tell them they had the wrong number.

Let me say one last thing.  The church is a building.  It is not God, it is not the baby Jesus.  It is a building made by and for humans.  It has no special powers.  The church leaders do not have an open phone line to God.  They do not know what he/she wants any more than I do.

I really do not care what deity you choose to worship or even if you decide that none are for you.  I’m fine with that.  What I am not fine with is people with a complete lack of common sense and people that prey on the weak minded.  That bothers me.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

