Posted by: lylescott89 | February 23, 2012

It’s Oscar Time Again

Hey kids,

Once again it is Oscar time!  I love the Oscars, but you all know that already.  It’s my second Super Bowl Sunday of the year.  Heck, it’s my second Super Bowl Sunday of the month!  I am very much looking forward to the broadcast this Sunday despite the fact that I have seen only one of the nine Best Picture nominees.  That film would be War Horse and I will tell you that it is an excellent movie and well worth seeing.  War Horse is the kind of movie that one would expect to win Best Picture, but I am afraid that it has little to no chance.  In a less crowded field it could win, but not this year.  Before I get to my predictions I have a few things to share:

• I am very pleased to have Billy Crystal hosting the Oscars once again.  I think he is a great host and will be a welcome relief from last year’s debacle.  That said I still would have loved to have seen what Eddie Murphy would have done as the host.

• As always these predictions are who I think will win and not who I would choose if I were an Academy voter.  We all know that I deserve to be a voter, but let’s not open that wound right now.

• I felt the categories were a little easier to pick than last year, but then again maybe not.  The one category I had the most difficulty with was Best Supporting Actress.  I really wanted to pick Melissa McCarthy for Bridesmaids and I really want her to win, but with few exceptions the Academy is not well known for choosing comedic performances.

• My predictions are not based on anything in particular so please do not go out and place bets based on what I say.  I will not be held liable for you wagering on my whims.

So without any further delay I give you my predictions for the Oscar winners in the only categories that anyone really cares about.

Best Picture: The Artist
Best Actor: George Clooney – The Descendants
Best Actress: Viola Davis – The Help
Best Supporting Actor: Christopher Plummer – Beginners
Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer – The Help
Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Best Animated Feature: Rango

So there you have it kids, my 2012 Oscar predictions.  I’ll be there Sunday night staring intently at the screen and keeping a checklist of all the winners.  Will my predictions be on target?  Who knows?  And frankly since I’m not wagering on my picks it hardly matters, but it’s fun.  Let’s keep it that way.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

