Posted by: lylescott89 | March 2, 2012

Rush Limbaugh is the Biggest Slimeball in America

What did liberals do that was so offensive to the Republican party?  I’ll tell you what they did. Liberals got women the right to vote. Liberals got African-Americans the right to vote. Liberals created Social Security and lifted millions of elderly people out of poverty. Liberals ended segregation. Liberals passed the Civil Rights Act, the Voting Rights Act. Liberals created Medicare. Liberals passed the Clean Air Act, the Clean Water Act. What did conservatives do? They opposed them on every one of those things ¬ every one. So when you try to hurl that label at my feet, ‘Liberal,’ as if it were something to be ashamed of, something dirty, something to run away from, it won’t work. Because I will pick up that label and I will wear it as a badge of honor.” – Lawrence O’Donnell, Jr.

Hey kids,

When I was in college there were always students that were there for maybe a semester or two and then would transfer, drop out or otherwise just disappear.  I recall a conversation I had with one of these students whose name I cannot remember.  For the sake of argument today we’ll call her Meg.  Frankly the only thing I really do recall about her is that she…um…well, okay I don’t remember anything else about her.  Anyway, we were sitting in the library working on something for a class we had together.  I made some sort of comment and she gave me a dirty look.  I asked her what was wrong and she asked me “Are you a lib?”  I had no idea what she meant so I asked her what a lib was and she said “You know, a liberal”.  I told her that yes I was which was followed by a look of complete disgust on her face.  She picked up her books and left without saying another word.  I thought at this point that I really messed up, but I was wrong.  I could not figure out what was wrong and every time I saw her she would look the other way as if I had some sort of disease.  She never spoke to me again and I became the better person for it.

It did make me wonder about some things though.  For the life of me I could not figure out why any woman would willingly choose to be a part of a group that obviously hates them so much.  It has been almost 30 years since that incident and I still don’t understand it.  We hear complete disrespect and hatred of women from all facets of the republican party on a daily basis.  The mental patient in a sweater vest (Rick Santorum) wants less government in everything except when it comes to women.  The statements that he has made are absolutely frightening.  Case in point:

When pregnancy is caused by rape- “The right approach is to accept… a gift of human life… accept what God is giving to you.”

That is an insane statement to make, yet this mentally deformed sweater vested person said it and people still voted for him.  Unbelievable that he would get even one vote from a human let alone a woman.  This whack job is pro guns, pro death penalty, pro war, anti healthcare and he dares call himself pro life?  At best he is pro fetus.  He just doesn’t give a crap about the kid once he/she is born.

But enough on him for now.  What I really wanted to get into was that slimeball Rush Limbaugh and his followers.  For years this misogynistic creep has said horrid things about women and people listened.  His fans cheered and laughed and made fun of people like me.  Somehow they made liberal a bad word.  (My shampoo bottle says “apply liberally” on it.  I often wonder if this offends republicans.) He has said nasty things about the president’s children, the First Lady and essentially every woman in the world, but now he has crossed the line.  I will not go into the attacks he made on Georgetown law student Sandra Fluke because you should know about them by now and I will not dignify his statements by reprinting his words, but what he said was reprehensible and disgusting.  His attacks on this woman were cruel, uncaring, inhuman and an insult to all women.  I have despised Limbaugh for a long time now for obvious reasons, but it is now time for me to do something about it.  I cannot stop him from broadcasting and I cannot stop anyone from listening to him, however, I can avoid patronizing any of the advertisers on his show and I can avoid his so called fans.  (I believe they refer to themselves as “dittoheads” although “shitheads” is much more appropriate)

So if you are with me I ask you to please avoid the following companies that currently advertise on his show:

• Pro Flowers
• Sleep Train
• eHarmony
• Carbonite
• Sleep Number Bed
• Oreck Upright Vacuum Cleaners
• Mid-West Life Insurance Company of Tennessee (Does that even make sense?)
• AutoZone
• Blue Emu (I have no idea what that is)
• Legal Zoom
• Citrix Online aka Go to my PC
• Mission Pharmaceuticals
• Life Quotes, Inc.
• Lending Tree

Now if you already own an Oreck don’t throw it away, just don’t buy another one.

But I am also going one step further and if it costs me friends, family members or acquaintances I do not care.  Please read this carefully.  If you listen to Limbaugh on a daily basis, if you agree with him or if you support him in any way whatsoever I want nothing to do with you.  If you think that him attacking a young woman is okay, if you think his attacks on President Obama are funny or if you actually believe the lies he spews on a daily basis I want nothing to do with you.  Because the idiots that support and listen to him are just as bad, if not worse, than Limbaugh himself.  You have the ability to think for yourself and not be a follower of a person as heinous as him.  You have the ability to say “enough is enough” and change the station.  It’s a free country and you can listen to his lies, racist rants and hatred if you would like to, but if that is the kind of person you are we have nothing in common and I cannot be bothered with you.  I don’t hate you, but then again I cannot understand you, especially if you are a woman.  I promised myself at the beginning of the year that I would always take the high road, meaning that if anyone attacked me I would not attack back, but rather ignore or try reasoning.  There is no reasoning with someone that believes in the fear, racism and hatred spewed out by Limbaugh so I am not even going to bother.  If you are a friend of mine on facebook please feel free to de-friend (un-friend?) me.  I will not be upset or offended.  You have to be who you are and this is how I am.

I mentioned the Meg story earlier and now I should tell you the rest of it.  For a long time after she abandoned me I felt ashamed and embarrassed for what I believed even though I felt that I was right and she was wrong. It took me a few years to get past that and when I did I felt better.  I am a liberal and I am proud of it.  Like the quote above stated, it is a badge of honor and I wear it with pride.  I want equality.  I do not think being poor is a crime or a disease.  I think everyone in this country should have quality health care.  I think every woman has the right to treat her body the way she wants without government laws telling her otherwise.  I happen to think that giving birth to an unwanted child is worse than an abortion.  I believe in the complete and total separation of church and state.  I know that the USA was not founded as a Christian nation.  Gay marriage?  I’m all for it.  I believe in science and I believe in evolution.  I care about people, even you conservatives.  I do not wish harm on anyone.  Someone I know recently said that Whitney Houston deserved to die.  I disagree and I found his/her comment to be disgusting.  That is a cold hearted person.  That is not who I am.  So whatever you think of me that is fine and acceptable.  I am not angry and I am who I am.  You can accept me or not, I do not care. But for those of you that are taking up with lies of Limbaugh and his web of hate I bid you adieu and wish you well.

And would all my friends on Twitter do me a favor please?  If you would be so kind to follow @SandraFluke please.  It would be great to see her get more followers than that blowhard Limbaugh.

Namaste

Responses

  1. I love you. I am so lucky and proud to have you as my big brother.

  2. Lyle – you may just have inspired me to go on Twitter! Great blog. I do have an OLD Oreck . . . maybe I could use it to suck up Rush Limbaugh!


Leave a Reply

Categories

