Posted by: lylescott89 | May 9, 2012

Common Sense Prevails: Thank You Mr. President

Hey kids,

I love it when I wake up in the morning and Barack Obama is President.  After the debacle in North Carolina yesterday President Obama made a bold and welcome move today.  He said this to ABC News:

“Over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”

This is historic, monumental and absolutely the right thing to do.  Everyone deserves to have the same rights and opportunities in this country.  End of story.  We, as a nation, have long been doing a great disservice by continually denying rights to the LGBT community.  While there is still a fight ahead, this is a great step.  It is wonderful to have an intelligent president that thinks first of what is best for his country rather than what is best for himself and his wealthy friends.  No doubt that if President Obama is not re-elected it will mark the end of progressiveness and we, as a nation, will take a huge step backwards.  We cannot let that happen.

The disgust I have for the voters of North Carolina right now is beyond words. By coming forward today and endorsing same sex marriage, President Obama has only softened that sting slightly.  I just want to come forward and publicly thank President Obama for this.  On behalf of my family, my friends and all the people I have seen hurt over the years due to hatred and ignorance, I say thank you.

Namaste

Responses

  1. Yes, it is about time. Hopefully, this will not lose President Obama as many votes as he will gain as, once again, he shows us he is the only candidate worthy of being elected president in this election. I must add a great big “AMEN!” to your comments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

