Posted by: lylescott89 | October 1, 2012

Think for Yourself, Resistance is not Futile

Hey kids,

I’m going to be brief today. I want to share with you a conversation I had with a woman this morning. We’ll call her Renee. I did not mean to start any conversation with Renee, but we were standing in the same place at the same time and she apparently felt the need to have some small talk. It went something like this…

Renee: Wow, it’s October already.

Me: Yep.

R: I’ll be glad when this election is over. I’m so tired of those TV ads.

M: I agree.

R: Do you know who you are voting for?

M: Yes, I am an Obama supporter and he has my vote.

R: I like Obama, but I have to vote for Romney.

M: You have to?

R: Yes. I am a registered republican and I have to support my party.

M: No you don’t.

R: Well I feel I have to.

M: Do you like Romney? Do you think he will make a good president?

R: Well, no I don’t particularly like him. I find him kind of shady. I don’t know if he’ll be a good president or not, but it doesn’t matter.

M: So you find him “shady” and yet you are still voting for him. Do you think Obama is doing a good job?

R: I actually do think he has been doing a good job. Obamacare has helped my niece get care that she never had before.

M: Okay, let me see if I got this straight; you like Obama and think he is doing a good job. In addition the health care act that he championed has benefitted your family and you are going to vote for a guy that will destroy it.

R: Well he’ll come up with something else and it will be better.

M: Like what?

R: I don’t know, but he said he would.

M: And you believed him?

R: Yes.

M: I think you need to take a look at the facts before making your decision to tow the party line.

R: I know. I feel bad voting against Obama, but I really have no choice.

Renee is an idiot and apparently fails to realize that she does have a choice. We all have a choice and our choices cannot be based on voting along party lines. Unfortunately there are way too many people in this country that are just as stupid as Renee.  They need to wake up.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

