Posted by: lylescott89 | October 29, 2012

What does it say when a nine year old child is more intelligent than at least 22 of my friends?

Hey kids, 

Last weekend my son and I were driving to Walt Disney World. Donna had a meeting in Orlando and we were staying in a hotel downtown so it was a good 30 minute drive to the parks. To keep himself busy Adam picked up a newspaper in the lobby and said he would read while I drove. Every once in a while Adam would ask what a word meant and I was quite pleased that he was taking such an initiative to read. Then he asked a brilliant question. Adam asked me “how can anyone be so dumb to vote for Romney? The guy has no economic plan and he wants to hurt children by taking away their doctor visits. He doesn’t care about poor people.” I shouldn’t have been, but I was astounded that a nine year old child was more intelligent and had more insight than some adults I know.

I had no good answer for him except to say that there are people that do not pay attention to facts and only choose to believe lies told by Romney and by Fox “news”. I explained that these people are ill-informed, closed minded and undeniably racist. How else can you explain the fact that we have a statistical tie one week before the election when all the leading economists in this country have said Romney’s plans will increase the deficit? How else can you explain the fact that congress has refused to work with President Obama on everything and blame him for doing nothing? We have a real problem in this country and it starts with every person willing to cast their vote to a habitual liar that has no idea what he is doing. 

Then he said to me “I feel really bad for our country if he wins”. So do I pal. So do I. 

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

