Posted by: lylescott89 | December 11, 2012

It’s the Holiday Season…Again!

WDW - Hollywood StudiosHey kids,

Before I get to the gist of my post today I want to say that there is no such thing as a “War on Christmas”. It’s a stupid thing to say and it needs to stop. First of all, calling it a war is demeaning and disrespectful to anyone who has ever put on a uniform and had to fight in an actual war. If in your attempt to celebrate Christmas you get shot at and have grenades thrown at you then you can call it a war. Until then, shut up.

Second, no one in the good old USA is telling you that you cannot celebrate Christmas. You can celebrate any dang holiday you choose or you can totally ignore it. Your choice. Heck, I’d celebrate Kim Kardashian’s birthday if it meant I got a day off of work. Just because there is no nativity scene in front of your courthouse does not mean you can’t celebrate as you choose because believe me, there are plenty of churches with nativity scenes out front. Just go there.

Thirdly, whenever someone offers you good wishes, whether it be Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Hanukkah, Joyous & Blessed Kwanzaa or Happy Kardashian Day you should smile and say thank you because someone took the time to offer you a pleasant greeting. And quite frankly there is absolutely nothing wrong with Happy Holidays. Do you know the origin of the word holiday? The word itself is derived from the notion of “Holy Day” and comes from the Old English word hāligdæg where it referred to special religious days. Seems just as nice as the other greetings to me.

Phew. Now that I have that off of my chest I want to talk about…oh crap I forgot! Dang this getting old crap sucks. Hang in there kids, I’ll think of it. Got it!

Very Cold SnowmanLike just about any kid I always looked forward to the holiday season. As I grew older I still loved it, but the last few years I have been seriously lacking in the holiday spirit and I don’t know why. I have several theories as to why my holiday spirit has been in decline:

1. I hate my job and the daily grind of having to endure this nightmare has taken its toll on me.
2. My mom is no longer here. As much as I used to complain about taking her shopping or driving her around to look at lights, I kind of miss all that.
3. Plain and simple, I am getting older and slower and I hate it.
4. The over-commercialization of the season. This may come as a surprise to some people, but I really don’t care if I get gifts any longer. Oh sure, I appreciate it when anyone thinks of me enough to get me a gift and sure, it makes me feel good too but if I get nothing I am not heartbroken. Anyway, I am truly disgusted by what I see every year at Thanksgiving. It used to be that stores opened early on Friday. Maybe they’d open at 7:00 AM. Then it became 6 and then 5 and 4 and 3:00 and then finally most retailers said “the hell with family, let’s open on Thanksgiving!” That was very upsetting to me, but what was even worse was seeing the crowds on the news pushing and shoving to get their bargains. And will any of them remember a year from now what it was they purchased? Maybe 10%. The greed and “gimme, gimme” attitude is terribly depressing to me.  Consumerism has gone way overboard.

Okay, so there are some things that depress me and I guess that is normal, but I need more things to get me in the spirit of the season. And naturally there are things that help:

1. Going to Walt Disney World is always a good source to get me in the mood. Seeing the parks at night is very beneficialA Very Hooters Christmas for me.  I wish I could be there the whole month of December.
2. Music helps as well, but not all music. There are Christmas songs I absolutely despise (Blue Christmas for one, anything sung by Celine Dion or The Carpenters for another) but there are some songs that really do it for me:
a. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) by Darlene Love
b. The Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Andy Williams
c. Christmas Canon by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra
3. Shopping for Adam and Donna. Even though I do all my shopping online it still helps.
4. Watching Adam on Christmas morning. It’s one of my favorite moments of the year.

Still, there are plenty of days that I want to have the Christmas spirit but unfortunately it’s just not there and that’s where I need your help. I need you kids to help me out and see if you can get me jazzed for the holiday season. I’m not asking for gifts or anything like that. I am asking for advice. I have a lot of followers and certainly there must be one or two that can wake up my inner spirits. Are you kids ready to help? I would really appreciate it.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

