Posted by: lylescott89 | July 29, 2013

The Great Smoky Mountains Journey Day 10: Coca-Cola & Twin Peaks

492Hey kids,

It was a lovely Saturday morning in Atlanta.  The sun was shining and there was no rain in the forecast.  Not that it mattered since we pretty much had only indoor activities planned for the day.  However, before we could get to any of those we had to go downstairs for the breakfast buffet.

As I have said before the “free” breakfasts at hotels can certainly be hit or miss.  Fortunately for us this one was a hit.  Although the area was a bit on the small side the offerings were good.  They had scrambled eggs, sausage patties, assorted pastries, bagels, English muffins and waffles that you could make yourself.  I started with a toasted bagel with cream cheese.  Once the schmear was in place I topped it off with two sausage patties, a mess of scrambled eggs and some Cholula.  I had made my own delicious breakfast sandwich and served it to myself with a glass of OJ.  Once I finished it I was still a ltlle hungry so I went and got a new plate with more eggs and sausage.

We headed down to get our car and found it intact right where we parked it.  I was a little concerned having parked the SUV three levels below the hotel, but as it turned out I worried for nothing.  We made the short trek to downtown Atlanta for something Adam had been waiting for since he had first heard it existed; The World of Coca-Cola Museum.  Donna and I had visited the old museum that was located by Underground Atlanta, but we had not been to the new location across from the Georgia Aquarium so we were looking forward to it as well.

Since I had already purchased our tickets online we were able to walk right in and avoid the lengthy line at the ticket500 window.  We walked in and entered the lobby and saw the legendary Coke bottles made from materials from around the world.  Once we had the obligatory photos taken they opened the doors to the next room which they referred to as the Coca-Cola Loft.  That is where we saw hundreds of Coca-Cola advertising artifacts, some of which dated back to the 19th century.  This was very cool and we were able to stay in that room for a while as our guide pointed out many of the highlights that surrounded us.  From there we were ushered into a theater to watch a film that I recall as being brightly animated and entertaining, but frankly there is not much more I can tell you about it other than, at the time, I found it most enjoyable.

After we exited the theater we entered The Hub.  We were told that we could explore The Hub at our leisure and go to whichever area we wanted to in any order.  I saw that the Coca-Cola Polar Bear was posing for photos and there was a very short line so we headed right to him.  He gave me a hug.  He hugged Adam and Donna too, but I think he gave me the biggest bear hug of all.  I felt loved.

510Once we were done with the bear we asked Adam where he wanted to start and he said the Bottle Works.  The Bottle Works demonstrated a slowed down version of the bottling process and was prepping the commemorative bottles that we would receive when we left the museum.  As we stood there and watched the bottles going by I remarked to Donna and to the guy standing next to me that it reminded me of Laverne & Shirley.  The guy, who we will call Tom so we don’t have to keep referring to him as “the guy”, laughed and agreed with me.  Tom’s daughter, Sally, asked “what’s Laverne & Shirley?”  We both looked at her as if she was insane and Tom began to describe the show.  I chimed in and said they worked at a brewery in Milwaukee.  Then something very strange happened.  Tom and I began to discuss the different characters on the show and then somehow we started singing the theme song.  Adam and Sally looked at us in that way children look at you when they are embarrassed by their parents.  Tom and I did not care and we sang the entire theme song.  We definitely did it our way, yes, our way.

We continued through the rest of The Hub and saw the vault where the secret formula for Coca-Cola is allegedly stored, another movie and lots of memorabilia.  All in all it was a very nice way to spend a morning.  But the part of the museum that Adam was most excited about was the tasting room.  In that room we were able to take a taste of Coca-Cola products from around the world.  Some were good, some were bad and one was Beverly, the vilest non-alcoholic beverage ever produced.  Adam liked to stand by the Beverly and express how good it was just to see the reactions of people after they tasted it.

We left the tasting room, got our commemorative bottles and exited through the shop.  Yes, Coke does it too.  The shop was593 huge and I lost both Adam and Donna on several occasions, but since I had the keys to the car I was not all that concerned.  We purchased a few items and headed out with lunch on our minds.  Of course, there was only one place I wanted to go for lunch and that was Twin peaks.

For those out of the loop, Twin Peaks is another Breastaurant in the same vein as Hooters or Tilted Kilt.  The décor is one of a mountain motif with animals on the walls and axes on the tables for reasons I do not wish to go into.  Fortunately for us our hotel was conveniently located within walking distance of the only Twin Peaks in Atlanta.  What good fortune we had to choose such a hotel!

We walked in and were immediately greeted by three lovely ladies.  As I tried to catch my breath I was able to softly answer “yes” when one of them asked us if we needed a table for three.  We were seated and I began to enjoy the magnificent scenery.  Our server, Joscelin, greeted us at our table and I informed her that this was our very first visit to any Twin Peaks.  She welcomed us once again and we placed an order for some Average Joes (3 mini jalapeno cheese brats with Dijon mustard and smokehouse pico) for an appetizer.  Adam and I split them and they were delicious.  We ordered lunch/dinner and while we were waiting I took the time to get some photos of the lovely ladies employed by this wonderful establishment.  An excellent time was had by all, but mostly me.

After we ate it was back to the hotel for Donna’s nap and pool time for me and the boy.  We were all full from our late lunch, but we all wanted something sweet.  I suggested ice cream, but Donna also wanted to shop and we decided that we could get both dessert and shopping done at the nearby Lenox Square Mall.

586As we wandered the mall we came across The Art of Shaving.  Now I have planned a trip to the Las Vegas location next year for a, ahem, close shave.  However, this was a smaller location that was just intended for purchasing their products.  We were greeted by a dapper gentleman named Jeffery who was quite the salesman.  I told him I was just there for curiosity and he showed me many of their finest products.  When it was all said and done, Donna had decided to purchase me a starter kit (lavender scented) for Father’s Day.  Jeffery was happy, I was happy, Donna and Adam were happy, everyone was happy.

We wandered the mall for a while and then stopped at the cookie place for some…cookies and then headed back to the hotel where we enjoyed said cookies.  It was our last night on the road and while we had no set time to leave in the morning, we knew we needed to get plenty of rest for the long haul back home.  Not a whole lot happened the next day, but if you stay tuned you’ll get the finale soon.

Namaste

Responses

  1. When you run out of shaving stuff, there is an Art of Shaving store in the International Plaza. They have good stuff, pricey, but good.

    • Yes, Jeffrey told me that as well. Very pricey, but it is fantastic stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

