Posted by: lylescott89 | January 2, 2014

My Steak ‘n Shake Story

Hey kids,

It all began on New Year’s Eve.  I was having a delicious dinner at P.F. Changs with my beautiful wife Dona, my cuddly cute son Adam and three friends whom we will call Ann, David and Leon.  I will have to tell you that if you are willing and able to get yourself three friends like those I just mentioned you should.  They are wonderful to be around and you cannot ask for better dinner companions.  Anyway, Leon was talking to me and he mentioned Steak ‘n Shake.  As soon as he said it I knew I had to have it.  It did not matter that I was enjoying fantastic egg rolls, Beef with Broccoli and Pork Lo Mein at that moment.  No, I knew that a delicious double steakburger was in my near future.  Like the next day in my future.

pf-changsI should tell you here about how the valet did not want to valet park my car that night. Either he was extremely lazy or my car just looked so shitty that he could not bear to sit in it.  Either way I had to park it myself.  NO big deal because as the valet pointed out there were several spots opening up right in front.  Still…

Okay so New Year’s Day arrived and I made a lovely breakfast.  (Grand’s biscuits with bacon, onions, peppers, eggs and cheese) The rest of the day was very lazy.  In fact we hardly did a thing.  Adam went out to play with his friends while Donna and I watched an episode of Sherlock and did some reading.  I just snacked all day in preparation for my evening meal at you know where.

When it came time to leave the house Donna said she was not feeling particularly well and just wanted to stay home.  It instantly became guys night out and off we went.

We arrived to find the place packed which led me to believe that Leon was on the phone all day telling people stories about double steakburgers with cheese.  We only had to wait a minute as the manager needed to do little other than clean off a table for us.

After about a minute we were greeted by our server, Geanna.  Now I cannot tell you much about Geanna other than these three things:

  1. She works at Steak ‘n Shake
  2. She’s drop dead gorgeous
  3. She’s probably trying to work her way through college as she was about that age

When she came over to the table I was sure I recognized her.  I think she used to work at the Winghouse, but don’t quote me on that.  Regardless she was very nice, took our order and soon Adam and I had our delicious burgers, fries and shakes. For the record I had the Three Pepper Double and Fries with a double Chocolate shake while Adam went with the Garlic Double with an M & M’s shake.

Everything was delicious.  We got our bill and I went up to the register to pay.  The guy at the register asked if I wasDSteakburger_Pepper_052413_196 cash or credit.  I was confused, but since I had no cash (I rarely carry cash) I had intended on using my debit card.  I told him this and then he said the computers were down and our meal was free.  I looked at him in a funny way and he repeated himself.  I said thank you and went back to get Adam.  It was at this point I realized I had no money to leave Geanna a tip.  I called her over and profusely apologized.  I asked her if she was working the next day and she said yes.  I told her I would get cash and then after work I would bring it by.  She said not to worry about it,  but I worried about it all night.  I felt awful.

So today I went to the ATM and got cash.  I went and put gas in the car (which was necessary) and got some change. About 6:00 PM I drove over to the Steak ‘n Shake.  It was raining and traffic was awful.  I guess we still have leftover tourists from the great white north.  Serves me right for not having left that poor girl a tip the night before.  Oh my gosh I felt so bad about that.

I arrived, walked in and saw her along with several other servers near the back of the restaurant.  It was not busy in there.  She had her back to me, but I recognized her immediately.  One of the servers saw me walking towards them and I signaled to her that I wished to speak to Geanna.  (I wonder if her parents spelled it like that or if she just decided it looked unique and did it that way herself?  Either way, I liked it)  Geanna turned around and her eyes opeed really wide.  I asked if she remembered me from the previous night and she said yes.  I aplogized again for not having a tip for her, told her I felt awful and handed her a 20% tip.  Now before you get too excited we need to remember that this is Steak ‘n Shake and our meal totaled about 15 bucks and some change.  She looked stunned.  I asked her if she was okay and she thanked me and gave me a big hug.  She said she figured there was no way I was coming back to tip her.  I told her I felt bad and I had to tip her.  It was the right thing to do.  She told me that people have said that to her before and never came back and then thanked me again, shook my hand and it looked like she was going to tear up a little.  I thanked her for the great service the night before and I walked out the door.

2011-06-21_Raleigh_Steak-n-Shake_at_nightLike I said I cannot tell you much about Geanna, but I can tell you this: whoever you assholes are that left and failed to give her a tip, I hope it comes back to bite you in the ass.  It’s called karma.  I felt relief when I left that I had made good on my promise.  Wouldn’t it be nice if politicians did the same?  Oh crap I’m going off on a tangent.  Never mind.  Anyway whether I did or not I felt like I made her day special.  And if you are reading this Geanna, thank you. (I realize the odds of her reading this are slim, but one never knows)

I hope to see Geanna again sometime and if I do I will have to leave her a bigger tip to make up for the losers that did not tip her.  And kids, if you are ever in a restaurant and your server’s name is Geanna please do the same.  One day she may be your doctor or your attorney and if so do you really want her recalling how you failed to leave a tip? Didn’t think so.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

