Posted by: lylescott89 | February 26, 2014

My Annual Oscar Picks

1794825_10152030161016406_1322712954_n Hey kids,

Have no fear my trusty Oscar predictions are here!  I know that you kids clamor for this every year and I always do my best to oblige your demands.  The Oscars will be hosted by Ellen DeGeneres this year and while I do find her to be a very talented and charming person, I did not think her last stint as Oscar host was very good.  In fact I thought she was pretty awful.  Not James Franco/Anne Hathaway awful, but still not so good.  When they announced her as host I was a little underwhelmed, but since I will watch the show from start to finish I will just have to accept her and hope she does a really good job.  She just can’t be too nice.  She has to poke some fun at the actors.

As usual these predictions are not based on any scientific facts or inside knowledge, but rather they are the names I expect to hear being called out in Sunday night.  Please do not make any wagers based on my predictions.  And although I should, I do not have a vote.  It should be noted that I only saw one of the nine nominees for Best Picture, which is pretty low for me.  I’ll discuss a little about how I made my choices in a minute, but first I have the predictions.

Best Picture – 12 Years a Slave
Best Actor – Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
Best Actress – Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Bset Supporting Actor – Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Best Supporting Actress – Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Best Director – Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity
Best Animated Feature – Frozen

The only nominee for Best Picture I saw was Captain Phillips.  And while it was a very good film I just do not see it stacking up well against any of the three favorites.  I went with 12 Years a Slave over Gravity because I think it is1653680_10152030160981406_1978671543_n probably a better film and it is definitely a more important film,  When I first saw the ads for Gravity I thought it was a joke.  It did not look like a real film to me then and it still doesn’t.  However I am told it is a spectacular achievement in cinema.  As such I have decided to give the director the Oscar as opposed to the entire film.  The only other film I could see as a potential winner would be American Hustle, but I just don’t think it stands up as well.  (Again, this is based on nothing but my opinion)

I never thought I’d see the day when Matthew McConaughey was the favorite to win an Oscar, but that day is here and he should easily take the award home with him,   Same goes for Jared Leto.  I don’t think anyone, not even the mighty Meryl Streep can challenge Cate Blanchett for her performance in Blue Jasmine.  So to me the only real drama comes down to the Best Supporting Actress category.  I went back and forth between Jennifer Lawrence and Lupita Nyong’o for quite a while.  I ended up with Lupita Nyong’o because Jennifer won an Oscar last year and because, from what I hear, Lupita gives a once in a lifetime performance that is harrowing.  I think she’ll get it.  I went with Cuaron as director over Steve McQueen (for 12 Years) for no other reason than I think the Academy wants to honor Gravity in some way outside of the technical categories.

923164_10152030159856406_737173986_nSo there you have it.  Quick and concise this year.  Good luck to all the nominees and good luck Ellen as well.  I need you to come through for me Ellen.  Make me laugh.

Namaste

Responses

  1. Note to Ellen: you were awful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

