Posted by: lylescott89 | December 8, 2014

The Best Thanksgiving Dinner Ever

Cabo's Island Grill

Cabo’s Island Grill

Hey kids,

Before I get to the fabulous Thanksgiving soiree I wanted everyone to know that I seriously cannot handle working at this hell hole another day.  Yes I am sitting at my desk as I write this and each day is like another dagger in my back.  Suffice to say that I am not the only one going through this crap here as I have now spoken to three others besides me, that spend their lunch hours crying in their cars.  So after a lot of thought and begging I am going to step out on faith and I will be officially done with this den of iniquity on March 5th, 2015.  That will be my final day here provided I can last that long.  It is just under three months and with the accumulated sick and vacation time as well as several holidays I think I can make it.  This place is a nightmare.  I think I’d rather enter the Hunger Games than be at this place another second.

Now with all of that out of the way I can tell you about my Thanksgiving.  I got to do two of my goals for this year; go out of town for Thanksgiving and see my sister Lyssa.  We left home on the morning of the 26th and headed to Tallahassee.  The roads were surprisingly clear of traffic, although the traffic heading south was quite horrific in one area at least.  We stopped in Gainesville for lunch at The Pita Pit and the ride was essentially free from any drama.

We arrived in Tallahassee and made arrangements to meet Lyssa, Paul & Avery for dinner.  We had a fantastic dinner at Cabo’s Island Bar & Grill.  The burger I had was incredible.  It was a half-pound cheeseburger with pepper jack cheese, tomato, onions, mayo and sprouts.  It was juicy and cooked to perfection.  The fries that went with it were outstanding as well.  The meal itself was preceded by chips and salsa, also extraordinary.  I now have a new favorite Tallahassee restaurant.

But that is not what you want to hear about.  Thanksgiving dinner is why you came here today, yes?  We

Lyssa

Lyssa

arrived at Lyssa and Paul’s place shortly before noon.  Again the streets were empty so the drive went quickly.  Lyssa was dressed much nicer than I was and was doing her best June Cleaver impersonation in the kitchen.  Although I had already had breakfast at the hotel I spied a pumpkin spice coffee cake on the kitchen table and after a few minutes of drooling I decided to partake.  Holy crap was that good.  Was this a sign of things to come?  (Hint: Yes)

Lyssa had this giant loaf of bread that she was cutting in half.  She buttered it and placed the turkey breast side down on the buttered bread.  It was something I had never seen before.  The turkey went into the oven and then we munched down on some artichoke dip and chips.   It was easily the best artichoke dip I had ever had.  We had three crackers to choose from; Triscuit, Town House and Town House Pretzel.  While they all did a decent job of complimenting the dip I found the pretzel crackers to be the best of the three.

I watched some football and had a coke.

After some time passed it was time for the turkey to be flipped.  I don’t recall whether it was Lyssa or Paul that flipped the bird, but in any case I knew what was coming next: BACON!  Yes, the breast was to be covered in bacon (FYI: a breast or two covered in bacon has long been a fantasy of mine) and then placed back in the oven.  As the turkey and bacon cooked I thought I was going to pass out as the aroma was unlike anything I had ever experienced before.

When the turkey was removed and the bacon separated it was a work of art.  I decided that I wanted to try some of the bread that had been baking under the turkey.  This bread had been buttered and then had bot turkey and bacon juices filtering down to it.  I pulled off a chunk and OH MY GOSH hot buttery bread with bacon and turkey juices is the best thing ever!

So let me tell you what was served at the table.  Of course there was turkey and bacon, but that was served alongside the most delicious gravy ever, a green bean casserole, dressing, cranberry sauce and rolls that were made without turkey or bacon juices.  I can say without a doubt that this was the best Thanksgiving dinner I have ever had.  Bar none.  But it was not over…

Turkey & Bacon

Turkey & Bacon

There were three pies waiting for me; apple with cinnamon crumblies on top, pumpkin cheesecake and maple pecan.  Now I would not touch any sort of nut pie so I was “stuck” with the other two and whipped cream.  Pumpkin, apple & whipped cream!  Oh my!  The apple was incredible and well, so was the pumpkin.  I have anointed Lyssa and the World’s Greatest Pie Maker”.

At the end of the night I was so full I thought I would burst.  I could not even have eaten a wafer thin mint at that point.  I figured there was no way I’d be able to eat a thing on Friday.  I was wrong.

I am now spoiled by the Lyssa Thanksgiving.  I cannot go back to anything else as it will clearly disappoint.  So I am hoping for one of two things in November 2015; a return trip to Tallahassee would be best, but if I am to have dinner elsewhere Lyssa will need to be there to cook.

So here is one final shout out to Lyssa, Paul & Avery: Thanks so much for all the food, your hospitality and for allowing me to watch as much football as I wanted.  By the way I gained three pounds on that trip.  I got home on Friday afternoon and went right to the gym.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

