Posted by: lylescott89 | February 18, 2015

Hooray for the Oscars

Hey kids,

Before I get to my annual Oscar picks I want to share a couple of items. First of all I am down to my final two weeks at the horrible nightmare that has been my job for many years now. I am ecstatic, but also a bit nervous as I will be working for myself and I have to get people to pay me. Not an easy task, but I have a few things lined up and if word of mouth gets outWhiplash that I do good work then perhaps more work will come my way. Second, I learned this morning that yet another person from my unit here at the office has decided to just up and quit. She said that she just could not take it any longer and put in a one week’s notice. Hey at least I gave them plenty of warning, but this just tells you what a nightmare this place is. It is not just me.

Now let’s get to the Oscars. I was thrilled to hear that Neil Patrick Harris would have the hosting duties. I think he is brilliant and I cannot wait to see what he does with this opportunity. I’m expecting big laughs from NPH and perhaps an appearance by Harold & Kumar.

As is the standard, these predictions are not based on any scientific facts or any sort of insider’s knowledge. No they are nothing more than guesses based on what I perceive and how I think the Oscar voters will cast their ballots. And as I have reminded you year after year; I do not have a vote, but I should. Frankly if I had a vote or could at least pick the nominees we’d have a much more interesting telecast, but that is not happening anytime soon. I have not seen any of the films nominated for Best Picture, but then again I am not totally convinced that anyone with a vote has either so there you go. Here are my picks for the Oscars:

Best Picture – Boyhood
Best Actor – Michael Keaton – Birdman
Best Actress – Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Best Supporting Actor – J.K. Simmons – Whiplash
Best Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette – Boyhood
Best Director – Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – Birdman
Best Animated Feature – Big Hero 6

BoyhoodI was torn between Boyhood and Birdman for Best Picture even though I do not think either of them are worthy of the award. I know they have been critically acclaimed, but the regular people I have spoken to that have seen them have told me they are both pretty bad. I understand we all have different tastes, but I tend to trust some people more than others. Ultimately I picked Boyhood because of the way it was made; filmimg it a little at a tiome over the course of 12 years. You would think I would have chosen it for Best Director based on that fact, but I went with Birdman. Boyhood could win both, but since both films are so loved by the Academy I am guessing one will get one award and one will get the other. Simple as that.

I picked Michael Keaton for Best Actor because he is an older and beloved actor that played an actor in the film. The Academy loves that stuff. Julianne Moore was a fairly easy pick as well as she has been nominated and never won in the past. This is one of those “body of work” awards even though her performance is spectacular and that should be good enough.

In the supporting categories we have two of the easiest picks in my opinion. J.K. Simmons, yes the guy from the Farmers Insurance commercials and the voice of the Yellow M&M, is a gimme. His performance as the really mean and nasty music teacher has won rave reviews and everyone I have spoken to said he is just transformed in this role. I did not have a particularly mean band director, but I did piss him off to the point where he once said “you ruined my band”. I suppose that is a story for another day.

Patricia Arquette gets the nod in the actress category if for no other reason that not many women would be comfortableThe Imitation Game letting an audience watch them age 12 years in just under three hours. In addition it is appropriate to give any woman that was once married to Nicolas Cage. Oh my gosh Meryl Streep is in this category too? My goodness that woman would get nominated if she was in a movie doing nothing but picking up shit with her bare hands. It’s Patricia’s turn Meryl.

We shall see what happens on Sunday night. I’m looking forward to a great show. Make me proud NPH. I’m counting on you.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

