Posted by: lylescott89 | May 22, 2015

Well, I tried.

May the 4th be with you

May the 4th be with you

Hey kids,

It has been a tad bit over two weeks since the MDA debacle and I figured now was as good a time as any to share the story. As you know I was trying to do something nice and as is often the case with me it did not turn out even close to what I had planned or hoped.

Quick review: The people at MDA had contacted me and asked if I wanted to do one of those fake jail things to raise money. Initially I was not available the day they wanted, but I rearranged some things so I could do it.  I was promised that for my efforts I’d be picked up in a limo, given a free lunch at Cody’s and receive a t-shirt.  In addition I was going to be able to do that whole networking thing to promote my business.  I said yes because I desperately want to ride in a limo and I love the food at Cody’s and I wanted to a good thing.  Epic fail.

I raised a paltry amount of money.  They set a goal for me to raise $3500.00 and I managed to raise about 4% of that including my personal donation.  I sent out emails, posted crap on Facebook and twitter and got little to no response.  To those of you that did donate, I thank you all very much.  I sent out an email thanking you, but here is your public thank you.

The day arrived and I started it like any other with my workout at the gym.  I was unaware as to when they’d pick me up since I had not heard from them in a few weeks, but I figured if they did not call me by 10 AM I’d call them.  Lo and behold I received a call at 9:30 AM and it went like this:

MDA Lady: We are getting ready to pick you up, but we do not have a work address for you.  All we have is your home.

Anna

Anna

Me: I am self-employed and work out of my home.

ML: Oh.  Well are you turning yourself in?

Me: I have no idea what that means.

ML: You don’t have a business backing you.

Me: I have my own business.  They said they’d pick me up at home without a problem.

ML: Well we were not planning on picking up people in Dunedin.

Me: Oh.  (Said with complete and total disappointment)  They said they would.

ML: I’m sorry for the confusion.  Can you drive yourself to Cody’s?

Me: Yes.  It is only about a 10-15 minute drive for me.  I can be there at 11 Am if you want.

ML: Thank you for understanding.  We’ll see you at 11 AM.  I have your t-shirt.

So around 10:40 AM I get in the car and go.  I arrived a few minutes early and there was no limo there yet so I waited in the car.  And I waited.  And I waited some more.  Finally a bus came into the parking lot, but it was just a bus from a retirement village taking some residents to Red Lobster.  I decided to go to the door.  It was locked and there was no a human in sight. I called the MDA Lady and asked when they’d get there and she said they were inside and to come on in.  I said the door was locked and then I realized they were at a totally different Cody’s than I was.  I asked where she was and she said in St Petersburg.  I advised her I was at the Cody’s in Clearwater where I thought the thing was being held.  She said no.

Well I was pissed.  I quickly checked on my phone and the place was a solid 30 minute drive from where I was at.  There was no way I was going to drive there in the mood I was in.  So I told her to just forget it and I was going home.  She said she’d send me my t-shirt.  I have never received it.

Elsa

Elsa

Now here are the problems I have.  (And by the way someone owes me a limo ride and dinner at Cody’s.  I don’t know who yet, but someone does)

  1. They said they’d pick me up and I told them initially I worked out of my home.  They said that was not a problem.
  2. I was never told which Cody’s location it was at.  I just figured it was the one in Clearwater since that is really the only location that I know.  I had no clue they had a place in St Pete.
  3. When she called and said they could not get me I should have been suspicious.  My bad, but when I told her it would only take me 10-15 minutes don’t you think that would have made her wonder how I could do that in a car with traffic? She knew where it was being held and knew where I lived.  She could not see that it was at least a 30 minute drive?
  4. They put way to much pressure on me with the goal they gave.

So there you have it.  The MDA debacle.  No I will not do this again and no I will not get suckered into something like this without getting all of the facts first.  Lesson learned.

Next time I will have to share a story of two guys that absolutely wasted two hours of my valuable time.  Don’t let me forget. Enjoy your holiday weekend kids and drive safely.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

