Posted by: lylescott89 | June 25, 2015

Have Camera, Will Travel

Hey kids,

April

April

I have to tell you that I did not realize it had been over a month since I last wrote something. My apologies to any of you that were sitting there desperately waiting for me to write something.  I think that number is technically zero, but for our purposes today it is well over a thousand.

Anyway I am really loving this whole self employed thing.  I wake up happy every morning and I look forward to each day. This is opposed to what my life was previously when I would dread going to bed for fear that I would have to wake up and go to work the next day.  I get such great pleasure from going out and taking photos that it does not seem like work and that is the way it should be.  I should have made this change a lot sooner.  However, this is not without its problems.  If people don’t hire me then I don’t make money and then don’t pay the bills and then Donna gets mad at me and you get the idea.  So yes I love that I have taken control over my life and made myself a happy person, but there are drawbacks.  I read once where it takes about two full years to get a business such as mine going so I have quite a while to go I suppose.  Basically I guess I am saying I am right where I am supposed to be right now.

So let me tell you what I have done in the last month since we spoke.  I have done two glamour sessions working withLissa swimwear models as well as a couple of fashion sessions.  As far as I am concerned each session turned out extremely well. My clients were very happy with the photos and I thoroughly enjoyed taking the pictures despite the oppressive heat. When I was taking my classes about a year ago I was told that I needed to find the areas that I liked the best and focus on those.  I am in no position right now to turn down business so at this point I am open to any and all offers, but eventually I will have to make a decision where my focal point will be.

I can tell you that I really like working with fashion & swimwear models and not for the reasons you think.  I enjoy the one on one relationship between myself and the model.  To be able to just focus on one person and make them the most important person in the world for the few hours you work together is really fantastic.  Small groups are fun as well because each person will play off of the others in the small group and you tend to get some really nice photos.

I also entered a contest with the C&O Canal Trust in Maryland and actually won!  No prizes were involved and of course the internet/Facebook trolls were out there ready and waiting to tell me that I did not deserve my victory, but the public voted and I won.  You can see the photo right here.  I liked it.C&O June Contest Winner

Sometimes I really cannot believe I lasted so long at that horrible job.  I guess I was just scared to make a change and afraid of failure.  I kept telling myself I was not good enough to do anything else, which I know now was a total lie.  None of this would have possible without my family’s support and I thank them all for helping and believing in me.

Finally today I want to put the word out there that I need some business.  I have done this before and many have helped, but it does not hurt to do so again.  If you know anyone that is in need of a very good photographer for any kind of session please give them my information.  Have camera will travel is my motto right now so if I am hired for a job down the street or down the highway I am willing and ready to go.  I need the work my friends and as I have said before, word of mouth is the best advertisement.Juliet By doing so you are helping me live my dream.  Plus you’re making Donna happy too and ultimately Adam is also happy.  You’re happy, I’m happy, we’re all happy!  I probably should add that if I travel a long distance it will have to be incredibly lucrative or expenses must be paid. That’s just common sense I guess.  Thanks.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

