Posted by: lylescott89 | August 29, 2016

I Support Gabby & Colin

0125_oag_kaepernickHey kids,

It seems to me that a lot of people in America these days have confused Nationalism with Christianity.  I am really not sure how this happened, but if I had to guess it goes back to the evangelicals and much of the nonsense they spew.  To be patriotic is to be Christian and vice versa.  What they do not seem to understand, besides the fact that they are wrong on most everything, is that a major part of being American is the right to choose to worship or not worship in any way you choose and the right of dissent. To quote Howard Zinn “Dissent is the highest form of Patriotism”.

When I attended elementary school we began each day with the playing of the national anthem followed by the pledge of allegiance.  When I first began my days at Gocio Elementary this was all new to me as it was with most of the young children in my class. My teacher told us that we were to stand at attention for the national anthem and then to place our right hands over our hearts for the pledge.  That is exactly what I did without question and it is what I do to this day.  Yes kids it is true.  I have never once put my hand over my heart for the national anthem and I never will.  It’s just not how I was taught.  As far as the pledge goes I always found it a bit unnerving that I was pledging my allegiance to a piece of cloth, but that’s a story for another time.

w_g_douglas_kh_800So this brings us to Olympic Gymnast Gabby Douglas and the flack she received for not placing her hand over her heart at the Olympics this summer.  Now keep in mind I did not watch one second of the Olympics and only learned of this story after the fact.  When I heard this story and heard of the hatred and racism she was enduring due to her making a choice that is her absolute right as an American citizen, I had to shake my head in disbelief.  This was one of those “who cares” moments as far as I was concerned.   Had I been watching it is doubtful I would would have even noticed.  That so many people did and that so many people went batshit crazy over it speaks volumes about the current state of America.

Then just a few days ago Colin Kaepernick made the choice to sit in protest during the national anthem.  His motives could not have been more clear.  In his words:

“I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color,” Kaepernick told NFL Media’s Steve Wyche, confirming Pro Football Talk’s original report. “To me, this is bigger than football, and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.”

14117797_1423231217693211_8795408702059757245_nYou can agree or disagree with his statement.  You can agree or disagree with the way he portested.  You can burn your Kaepernick jesrsey if you are really that stupid.  However, you cannot and should not disagree with his first amendment rights to speak his mind and protest an issue he feels strongly about.  And I don’t want to hear any nonsense about how this disrespects the military.  Far from it.  The people that are in the military are there to protect our constitution and way of life.  And that constitution and way of life gives Kaepernick the freedom to not stand during the national anthem.  That constitution and way of life gives Gabby Douglas the right to choose whether or not she puts her hand over her heart when a song plays.

It really disturbs me that the vast majority of Americans who are upset about stupid little things like these are the same people who think a Cheeto faced racist is the person we need to lead our country and call for Hillary Clinton to be locked up for deleting emails. The irony and idiocy astounds me.

If you really want to get upset about something here in the good old USA how about getting upset about the governor of Maine saying stupid crap like “You shoot at the enemy. And the enemy right now are people of color or people of Hispanic origin”.

How about getting upset and taking action because two high school girls in Arizona were forced to remove their black lives matter shirts while some other students wore shirts with Confederate flags without issue?

13876690_1169134709776398_4781643211551405718_nJust as Colin Kaepernick has his right to not stand you absolutely have the right to speak your mind about it and to disagree.  However you should, as with anything, get all the facts before going bonkers.  What you do not have the right to do is send him death threats. That is crossing the line.

I could go on and on, but at this point if you don’t get the idea you never will.  So I stand (figuratively) with Colin Kaepernick and I stand with Gabby Douglas.  I will leave you with a quote from Pastor John Pavlovitz:

All I’ll say is that the folks calling for Kaepernick’s head are like the same ones who gave Ryan Lochte a little pat on the head and a chuckling “Boys will be boys”, when he broke into and vandalized a Brazil gas station bathroom, and filed a fake robbery report before lying to the worldwide media and fleeing the country.

The double standard is notable and disturbing, and all the more reason the quarterback was right to make the statement he felt compelled to make, because of what the response to it reveals about us.

The sick feeling I get in the pit of my stomach at the anger, is that to some people black lives don’t matter—but red, white, and blue songs do.”

Black lives matter.  And Go Cubs.

Namaste

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

