Posted by: lylescott89 | September 17, 2016

Hooray for New TV Shows

the-good-place-1Hey kids,

Back in the day I wrote as one of three contributors to a blog called TV & Burgers.  You can still see that blog here if you are so inclined, however nothing has been added to it since 2014.  It started out as a work of three, but ended up simply being just me.  I decided to let it go (Yes, I love Frozen) and concentrate on the Lacuna.  Well I used to write about the fall TV premiere and the shows I was excited about and those that looked like crap to me. Today I am going to give you a small, but delicious taste of the old days.  Instead of going network by network I am just going to hit the highlights plus one lowlight.  Ready kids? Here we go…

I’ll begin with NBC, which has some very good show that I enjoy, but only two new ones premiering this fall that I think are worth anything.  They also have the stinker, but first the shows I am planning on watching.

Timeless – (Premieres 10/3) We all know I love science fiction and am fascinated with time travel stories so this was an easy one for me.  Essentially we have the story of a criminal that steals a time machine (which I am sure happens all the time) to travel back in time and change the course of American history.  He is being chased by a team consisting of a smoking hot history professor (Abigail Spencer) A soldier (some guy I gave never heard of) and a scientist (again, a guy I don’t know)  This show, to me, is vaguely reminiscent of The Time Tunnel, which was one of my absolute favorite shows when I was a kid. I am very excited about this one.

The Good Place – (Premieres 9/19) A comedy starring Kristin Bell (I love Frozen) and Ted Danson about a woman who is not so nice.  She dies and is taken to the Good Place in error.  It is a place where she cannot swear, cannot get drunk and is surrounded by nice people all the time.  It may actually be hell.  The show is produced by one of the writers from Parks & Recreation, which has to be one of my all-time favorite shows.  The Good Place looks hilarious to me and like I said it stars Kristin Bell (I love Frozen) so it’s another easy choice for me.  It will premiere on a Monday night and then will move to its regular Thursday night slot after the brilliant Superstore.  And if you are not watching that please give it a try.

This is Us – This is crap.  I know I am making a snap judgement based on nothing but a three minute trailer, but it looks to me like the standard, schlocky, weepy stuff that I despise.  It is getting rave reviews as well, which scares me more.  It’s about all these people that live syrupy lives and all have the birthday.  Blech!

Let’s go see the one show over at the CW that looks promising.

no-tomorrow-tv-series-on-the-cw-season-one-key-art-canceled-or-renewed-e1472497902540No Tomorrow – (Premieres 10/4) The world will end in eight months and two days according to a free spirit named Xavier.  A woman named Evie (the beautiful Canadian Tori Anderson) meets him, kind of thinks he is cute and pursues him.  She learns of his theory and it appears he gets her to make an “apocylist” of things to do before the world ends.  I think this is clever and the trailer made me laugh so it’s a definite go for me.

What is going on over at Fox?  Let me tell you.

Pitch – (Premieres 9/22) The story of the first woman to play professional baseball.  This drama has things I really like; a strong female character (the extraordinarily beautiful Canadian Kylie Bunbury) and baseball.  While I would have preferred she was playing for the Cubs and not the Padres I will still watch.  I would absolutely love to see a woman in MLB.  No question.  She is a pitcher and since she will be in the NL she will have to bat, but I do hope that she bats more like Madison Bumgarner than Ron Herbel, who is often considered to be the worst hitting pitcher of all time.  (And now you know)

Hey, what is happening at ABC?

Designated Survivor – (Premieres 9/21) This looks, to me, as one of the potential best shows of the fall.  It stars Keifer Sutherland as Tom Kirkman.  As the story goes whenever congress has a joint session a cabinet member is made the designated survivor in case of a catastrophe. (Shouldn’t we have that in case Drumpf is elected?  Seriously I can think of no greater catastrophe) Anyway an attack claims the lives of all of the president and all of congress and suddenly this nerdy guy is the POTUS.  I just love this concept and can imagine the places it will go.  It also stars the amazingly talented and lovely Maggie Q as the FBI agent investigating the attacks.

MASON COOK, KYLA KENEDY, JOHN ROSS BOWIE, MINNIE DRIVER, MICAH FOWLER, CEDRIC YARBROUGH

Speechless – (Premieres 9/21) a comedy about a very strong woman and her family.  From Wikipedia “…the DiMeo family, and their own unique personality: a take-charge mother with an outlandish but no-holds-barred attitude, a husband who seems to be smarter than he thinks, a no-nonsense athletic daughter, a middle child who’s the “brains” in the family, and their teenage son with cerebral palsy. The DiMeos are about to bring all that from a middle-class neighborhood they despised because of the location itself to a more upscale town in an effort to improve their way of life, with imperfect results.”  I watched the trailer for this and I was hysterical.  I can only hope that the entire series is that funny.  I love Minnie Driver and I absolutely love the fact that an actor with cerebral palsy (Micah Fowler) playing the role of J.J.  I also like the casting of Kyla Kennedy who is known best as Mika on The Walking Dead.  As we recall she was killed by her sister Lizzie in season four.  Don’t look at the flowers Lizzie!

American Housewife – (Premieres 10/11) Originally titled “The Second Fattest Housewife in Westport” before someone realized that the title was not only offensive, but way too long.  It stars Katy Mixon (whom I loved on Mike & Molly) as a housewife trying to fit in and stand out among the privileged children and other families in Westport, CT.  I laughed a lot at the trailer and it sort of reminded me of a much more tame version of “Bad Moms” (which was hilarious)  Definitely have to give it a try.

And finally what do we have promising at CBS?

greatindoorsThe Great Indoors – (Premieres 10/27) again, the trailer for this comedy had me in stitches.  It stars Joel McHale as an adventure reporter named Jack for an outdoor magazine that is suddenly thrust to the indoor world when his editor makes a few changes.  One of my favorite actors, the brilliant and British Stephen Fry, plays the editor and just having him in the show makes it a must watch. Jack is forced to work with “millennials” which is more of a challenge than facing the wilds of nature.

Man with a Plan – (Premieres 10/24) This starts Matt LeBlanc as a father who becomes a stay at home dad when his wife returns to work,  Now I was not overwhelmed by the trailer,but I am willing to give this show a chance based on the cast.  The premise is tired, but I do like the kids and the interactions that LeBlanc had at his daughter’s school seemed to have the most potential for me.  So, why not?

Kevin can Wait – (Premieres 9/19) Again, not the most original or the best trailer I have seen, but I do find Kevin James to be an incredibly likable person so I will give this comedy a try.  James plays a retired police officer with three kids adjusting to spending more time with his family.  He seems to be playing what is essentially the same character he played on King of Queens.  He is a fat guy with an attractive wife named Donna. That is also basically my life so who am I to judge?  I don’t hold out much hope for this, but I have to give it a try.

So there you have it.  I have stayed away from mid-season shows though several of them, including the Blacklist spin-off, look very promising.  Until next time kids.

Namaste

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

