Posted by: lylescott89 | February 21, 2017

My Annual and Probably Incorrect Oscar Picks

16807083_10154970118773764_8596617317070400953_n

Hey kids,

It is indeed that time of year again.  As we all know Oscar night is always my second Super Bowl Sunday of the year.  I love the movies and I love seeing them celebrated.  All the glitz, all the glamour and all the dresses make for a fun night for me.  Most of the time.

I cannot say that I that thrilled with this year’s best picture nominees.  I seriously think that there needs to be a way that every day people like me can get a say in the nomination process.  If it were up to me you would see Rogue One winning Best Picture and Felicity Jones would be taking home the Best Actress award.  Then you would see Ryan Reynolds winning Best Actor for Deadpool.  But it is not up to me and sadly it appears it never will be.  Sniff, sniff.

6362131604899639611269980815_2017-oscars-89th-academy-awards

With all that said let me just list the nominees for best picture and my thoughts on each one before I get to my annual predictions.

  • La La Land – Looks incredibly dull and I cannot ever imagine watching it
  • Moonlight – Never heard of it before it was nominated
  • Manchester by the Sea – Saw it.  Very powerful film. Worthy of a nomination.
  • Arrival – Saw it and enjoyed it.   Also worthy of a nomination.
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Barely heard of it before it was nominated.
  • Hell or High Water – Never heard of it before it was nominated
  • Hidden Figures – looks like an excellent film and I really want to see it.
  • Lion – Never heard of it before it was nominated
  • Fences – Looks depressing

15272242_10154039229651406_6156675346460937877_o

So here we have a slew of films that some people have seen, but most have not.  I have seen two of them and with that knowledge it is very difficult to predict a true winner.  But since this is my annual job I must do so.  So without further delay here are my Oscar predictions:

  • Best Picture: La La Land
  • Best Actor: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
  • Best Actress: Emma Stone – La La Land
  • Best Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
  • Best Supporting Actress: Viola Davis – Fences
  • Best Director: Damien Chazelle – La La Land
  • Best Animated Feature: Zootopia

So if I hate the idea of La La Land why did I pick it?  Well for one I think it will win.  I know at least two of the nominated films, if not three, are better however it seemingly is the one to beat.  Maybe I am wrong and it is a brilliant film and I would be enthralled if I watched it, but I cannot imagine being that bored.  Thus since I picked it for Best Picture I picked it for Best Director as well.

The Best Actor race was interesting to me.  I really want Casey Affleck to win simply because he is a likable guy and his performance was outstanding.  Plus Denzel has already won a couple of Oscars and while he probably will win I decided to go with a bit of an underdog.  Affleck’s role was of a deeply disturbed guy and Denzel’s role is seemingly similar so you really could go either way.

the-tightest-race-at-the-2017-oscars-is-best-actress-heres-who-could-win

Emma Stone should win the Best Actress award.  I really don’t know who can beat her. Despite the fact that Meryl Streep, the most accomplished and talented actress of our generation, has won several Oscars already (three) I would love to see her win just so I can hear her speech.  I do hope that Emma will add in some Drumpf bashing in her speech. actually I hope everyone gets up and says “Drumpf is a cluless POS”.  F you Drumpf!

Best Supporting actor should go to  Mahershala Ali.  Why?  Because that is an awesome name and I really want to hear the presenter say it.

Viola Davis will win Best Supporting Actress. End of story.  She has no competition.  This is the easiest race to call.  I will say that Michelle Williams was great in her role, but she has no chance.

16601740_10154229024956406_1818699935815057451_o

And for Best Animated Feature I went with Zootopia over Moana.  Both were excellent films, but I think in the end Zootopia was a little more fun and who doesn’t like fun?

So there you have it.  Expect a review next week of the show.  I am eagerly anticipating seeing Jimmy Kimmel host the awards.  I think he will do well.

Namaste

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

