Posted by: lylescott89 | February 27, 2017

And the Oscar Went to…

oscarpearls

Hey kids,

I really wish we could have had a Moonlight moment on election night last year.  Oh how much better off we would be in this country.  I do want to clear up a couple of things regarding the “whoopsie” at the end of the night before I talk about the show and how I almost got al of my predictions correct.  It was not Warren Beatty’s fault nor was it Faye Dunaway’s.  No, this gaffe is clearly on the accountants.  There are always two envelopes for each category and they are handed out on either side of the stage and for whatever reason they were handed the wrong envelope.  Emma Stone’s award had already been given out and that envelop should have been set aside.  It was not. But no matter how or why it happened it was certainly interesting to see how it was handled and I think all parties handled it well.  I particularly like the comment from La La Land producer Fred Berger; “We lost, by the way — but, you know,”.

whoops

But let’s talk about the show.  I think this was one of the best Oscar telecasts in years and I do not say that lightly.  The show started on a very sour note for me with a song and dance number from a guy I just simply despise; Justin Timberlake.  The song was awful and sounded like every other piece of popular crap that is out there today.  My gosh I hate modern music.  What the hell happened to music?

89th Annual Academy Awards - ArrivalsOkay, let’s put the grumpy old man away for a bit.  I thought Jimmy Kimmel did a spectacular job hosting the show.  He was funny, he was topical and he made a long show go by fairly quickly.  I was never bored despite the fact that I had little to no interest in most of the nominated films.  I will say I liked the bit with the candy dropping from the ceiling, but he did it one too many times.  Bringing the people in from the bus tour, whether staged or not, was fun though it appeared to me that Denzel Washington could not have been less interested in being involved.  I enjoyed the mean tweets and I absolutely loved his all night feuding with Matt Damon.  I particularly liked his spoof of the otherwise dreadful features that had current stars ruminating about movies and actors they liked.

Let’s talk about that for a second.  As much as I like Charlize Theron I could not have hated that segment where she went on and on about Shirley Maclaine more if I tried. Same with Javier Bardem and the “overrated” Meryl Streep.  (F*** you Drumpf.  My gosh I hate you) The Seth Rogen one was at least kind of funny, but the spoof with Kimmel commenting on Damon’s performance in that zoo movie was hilarious.  (Favorite line: “You can see how hard Matt is working. It’s so effortful for him.”)

89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Overall I think he did a great job and I hope they will invite him back.  What I did not like was something that is fairly typical of all Oscars hosts; the fact that the host seems to disappear in the last 30 – 45 minutes of the show.

So what else did I like and dislike?  Well I did not find many of the gowns to be all that flattering.  I did not like Emma Stones gown at all and what the hell was Janelle Monae thinking?  Nicole Kidman looked awful too, but don’t even get me started on Jessica Biel or Dakota Johnson.  Dakota now has the distinction of being not only unable to act, but she cannot dress herself either.  Sad.

Who was the best dressed woman of the night?  Well it was none other than the amazing Taraji P. Hensen.

89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Now let me share with you some of the best moments of the night including my favorite quotes.  Of course I like anything and everything that attacked Drumpf.  The best quote came from Gael Garcia Bernal:  “As a Mexican, as a Latin American, as a migrant worker, as a human being, I am against any form of wall that wants to separate us.”

89th Annual Academy Awards - Show

But the best moment of the night was when Anousheh Ansari, an  Iranian-American engineer and the world’s first space tourist, read a statement that Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi had written in case he won the Oscar for his foreign language film, The Salesman.  I will print that here for you now.

It’s a great honor to be receiving this valuable award for the second time. I would like to thank the members of the academy, my crew in Iran, my producer Alexandre Mallet-Guy, Cohen Media, Amazon and my fellow nominees in the foreign-film category.

I’m sorry I’m not with you tonight. My absence is out of respect for the people of my country and those of other six nations who have been disrespected by the inhumane law that bans entry of immigrants to the U.S.

Dividing the world into the “us” and “our enemies” categories creates fears. A deceitful justification for aggression and war. These wars prevent democracy and human rights in  countries which have themselves been victims of aggression.

Filmmakers can turn their cameras to capture shared human qualities and break stereotypes of various nationalities and religions. They create empathy between us and others. An empathy which we need today more than ever. Thank you.

But here’s the thing; those words along with common sense, compassion and equality fall on deaf ears when it comes to Drumpf and his idiotic supporters.  That is what is really sad.

89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

I also enjoyed the speech from Viola Davis.  I don’t think she was all that surprised that she won, but her emotional speech was amazing.  Mahershala Ali’s speech was equally touching.  Emma Stone’s speech?  Meh.  Casey Affleck’s speech?  Bigger meh.

So in the end Moonlight won the award for Best Picture and in doing so ruined my perfect night.  As my son said each and every time La La Land lost an award “suck it La La Land”.

Namaste

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

