Posted by: lylescott89 | April 5, 2017

This Week in Bacon

17022109_10155036387998764_3564094503803381305_n

Hey kids,

It is time for This Week in Bacon.  This week’s bacon is Oscar Mayer Naturally Hardwood Smoked Thick Cut.  As with most bacon it is simply amazing.  As avid readers know I am open to all sorts of bacon with the exception of Publix brand.  That stuff is bacon in only the thinnest sense of the word.  So I stay away from that stuff, but anything else is fair game and worthy of a try.

226691-bacon-oscarmayer-thicksliced

I also want to tell you how upset/annoyed I am by the change in my 6 PM Sportscenter.  I still love my Sportscenter AM as I work out at the gym.  For years I have watched Pardon the Interruption at 5:30 on ESPN followed by Sportscenter at 6:00 which, for a very long time, had been hosted by Lindsay Czarniak.  Late last year Lindsay went on maternity leave and I was looking forward to her return, but it never happened.  It may have had something to do with naming her child “Sibby”, but I cannot confirm that.  She is still with the network though as she recently covered the Special Olympics in Austria.

Lindsay

In any case ESPN announced that the new hosts of Sportscenter would be Jemele Hill and Michael Smith.  At first I was very excited because I really like both of them, though I get tired of Jemele’s “Rah, rah Michigan State” rants.  I want my ESPN sportscasters to be a tad bit more neutral.  That aside I think they are both great.  However the show sucks. Let me tell you why.

I was truly expecting the two of them to be Sportscenter co-hosts in the traditional sense. One would start with one story and then the other would follow with a different story. Perhaps there would be some brief, witty banter before commercials.  It’s what I want from the show; a recap of the days action followed by a preview of what is coming up that night and perhaps the upcoming weekend should there be some sort of big event. But no, what we got is a true mess.  They talk incessantly.  You get, perhaps, a highlight or two during the show.  This is not good.  Then they have the world’s worst and most obnoxious music blaring in the background.  Some athlete comes in and is interviewed and more often than not it is someone I do not care about in the least.  It’s enough to make me turn the channel and by golly it does.  I am begging you ESPN; keep the hosts and revamp this disastrous format.

In other bacon news I purchased some bacon jam at Trader Joe’s.  Tonight I will be making cheeseburgers covered in bacon jam.  I am very excited.

BACON-JAM

I am still in the process of becoming a minimalist.  I have gotten rid of a lot of junk and things that have been sitting in boxes for years.  I figured if I have not used it or even thought about it in the past five years I really don’t need it.

BTW, today’s bacon was awesome.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Categories

